I Remember

I Remeber,

 

When i was always thrilled by the approach of christmas in december,

 

when “pain” was not getting the toy i so much craved for or getting injected when i had malaria,

 

when i believed in total dependence on my parents,

 

when i was their little kid,

 

when i found it cool making stuff with building blocks.

 

I Remeber,

 

when i freaked out on seeing a green mamber for the first time,

 

when i sat under moonlight to listen to nightly tales told by my Grams,

 

When “unhappiness” was not getting the right birthday gift,

 

when all i told “her” was how cool her hair ribbon was,

 

when i looked forward to summer because it was like an eternal holiday,

 

when my mind was stable and never swayed,

 

when i always jumped to hug my Grams making my legs drape around her waist whenever she came visiting.

 

I Remeber,

 

when the farther i went into the school’s session, i always craved for summer because i knew it was nearer.

 

when i would sleep on the couch and wake up on the bed,

 

when i never knew what it meant to lust,

 

when the urge of struggle and desperation never ran in my veins,

 

when my face brightened up with excitement whenever i was able to give color to a drawing,

 

when “losing”, was not winning a crash bandicot race,

 

when i believed this »»» “if you take too much chocolates, your teeth will fall off” and i was okay with that.

 

when i never knew what it meant “growing up”

 

All these…connections to the past.

 

But then this present will become the past too and all that would be left are memoirs…

Leave a Reply

